General Skilled Migration (GSM) is a popular pathway for highly skilled people to migrate to Australia.

Under the GSM programme, there are the following visas:
·Skilled-Independent (Subclass 189) Visa
·Skilled-Nominated (Subclass 190) Visa
·Skilled Work Regional (Provisional) (subclass 491) visa
·Permanent Residence (Skilled Regional) (subclass 191) visa (available in November 2022)

·Skilled Regional (Subclass 887) Visa
·Temporary Graduate (Subclass 485) Visa
·Skilled-Recognised Graduate  (Subclass 476) Visa

Subclass 189 visa and 190 visa are permanent visas. They are point-tested. You have to be invited to apply for the visa. Subclass 189 visa does not require sponsorship by a relative or state/territory government. While subclass 190 visa requires nomination by an Australian State or Territory government. Each state or territory government has its own sets of requirements for nomination.

Subclass 491 visa is a 5-year provisional visa which allows holders to live only in designated regional area of Australia. You would need to be sponsored by an Australian relative living in a designated area, or by a state or territory government. Once it is granted, and after you have lived and worked in the required region for 3 years and meeting the minimum taxable income threshold for each of the 3 years, you would be eligible for a permanent subclass 191 visa.

Subclass 485 visa is a work visa which can be applied for by international students who have completed a qualification in Australia and meets the Australian Study Requirement. Depending on your eligibility, it can be granted for 18 to 48 months.

Subclass 476 visa is an 18-month work visa for recent engineering graduates who are under 30 years of age and have completed an eligible engineering qualification from a recognized institution in the past 2 years.

For more personalised advice:

Contact Us